Skip to Content
Call Us Today! 904-615-8950
Top
Underage DUI

Jacksonville Underage DUI Attorney

Defending Minors Accused of Drunk Driving in Duval County, FL

Being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious matter, but it is even more so when the driver is under the legal drinking age. In Florida, the legal drinking age is 21, and the state has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. This means that if a driver under the age of 21 is found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.02% or higher, they can be charged with DUI.

At The Law Offices of Kate Mesic, P.A., we understand that young people make mistakes. We also know that a DUI conviction can have a lasting impact on a minor's life. Our Jacksonville underage DUI lawyer is here to help you navigate the legal process and fight for the best possible outcome in your case.

Call us at (904) 615-8950 or contact us online today to request an initial consultation with our team.

What Is the Legal BAC Limit for Minors?

For drivers who are 21 years of age or older, the legal BAC limit is 0.08%. However, for drivers who are under the age of 21, the legal BAC limit is much lower. In fact, it is illegal for a minor to operate a motor vehicle with any amount of alcohol in their system. If a minor is found to have a BAC of 0.02% or higher, they can be charged with DUI.

Penalties for a first-time underage DUI conviction in Florida include:

  • Up to 6 months of probation
  • Up to 6 months of driver's license suspension
  • Up to 50 hours of community service
  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days

These penalties are in addition to the other consequences of a DUI conviction, such as increased insurance rates, a permanent criminal record, and more. For this reason, it is crucial that you take your underage DUI charge seriously and seek legal representation from an experienced attorney.

How Does a DUI Conviction Affect College Admission?

One of the most common concerns for minors facing DUI charges is how a conviction will affect their college admission. Unfortunately, a DUI conviction can have a significant impact on a minor's ability to get into the college of their choice.

Many colleges and universities require applicants to disclose any criminal convictions, including DUIs. This means that if you are applying to college and have a DUI conviction on your record, you will likely need to disclose it on your application. However, even if you are not required to disclose the conviction, the college may still find out about it during the application process.

When a college or university discovers that an applicant has a DUI conviction, they may choose to deny the application. This is especially true for schools that have a competitive admissions process. Even if the school does not deny the application, they may still take the conviction into account when making their decision.

For example, if two applicants have similar qualifications, but one has a DUI conviction, the school may choose to admit the other applicant. Additionally, a DUI conviction can affect a student's eligibility for financial aid, scholarships, and on-campus housing.

For these reasons, it is crucial that you do everything possible to avoid a DUI conviction if you are a minor facing these charges. An experienced underage DUI lawyer in Jacksonville can help you understand your legal options and fight for the best possible outcome in your case.

How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in Florida?

In Florida, a DUI conviction will stay on your criminal record permanently. This means that it will be visible to anyone who conducts a background check on you, including potential employers, landlords, and more. A DUI conviction can make it difficult to find a job, secure housing, and more.

However, if you were charged with underage DUI and were not convicted, you may be able to have the arrest and charges expunged from your record. Expungement is the legal process of sealing or destroying a criminal record. Once a record is expunged, it is no longer visible to the public, and you can legally deny that the arrest and charges ever occurred.

Not everyone is eligible for expungement, and the process can be complex. However, our Jacksonville underage DUI attorney can help you determine if you are eligible and guide you through the process.

How Can a Lawyer Help with an Underage DUI Charge?

If you are a minor who has been charged with DUI, you may be feeling scared, overwhelmed, and unsure of what to do next. You may be wondering if you should just plead guilty and accept the consequences. However, it is important to remember that you have the right to an attorney, and you should take advantage of that right.

Our experienced Jacksonville underage DUI lawyer can help you understand your legal options and fight for the best possible outcome in your case. We can review the evidence against you, determine if your rights were violated at any point during the arrest or investigation, and help you build a strong defense strategy.

Depending on the circumstances, it may be possible to get the charges against you reduced or even dismissed. For example, if the traffic stop was illegal, the breathalyzer test was not properly calibrated, or the officer failed to follow proper protocol during the arrest, it may be possible to get the evidence suppressed. Without this evidence, the prosecution may not have a strong enough case to secure a conviction.

If you are facing underage DUI charges, it is important to act quickly. The sooner you contact an attorney, the sooner they can begin building your defense. At The Law Offices of Kate Mesic, P.A., we are committed to providing the personalized legal representation you need and deserve. We will fight tirelessly for your rights and work to achieve the best possible outcome in your case.


Call our firm at (904) 615-8950 or contact us online today to schedule a consultation with our Jacksonville underage DUI attorney.


Our Settlements & Verdicts

Our top priority is to devise customized legal strategies that are tailored to the unique legal needs of our clients, no matter how simple or complicated their situations, might be.

  • Charges dropped Accident-Failed to Give Information and Improper Backing
  • Dismissed Accident-Leaving the Scene, Careless Driving
  • Expunged Allow Minor Alcohol at Open House Party.
  • Charges Dropped Allow Minor Alcohol ot Drugs at Open House Party
  • 1 count of battery amended, others dropped Battery
  • Reduced to municipal ordinance charge Battery

Contact The Law Offices of Kate Mesic, P.A. Today!

A member of our team will be in touch shortly to confirm your contact details or address questions you may have.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy
Locations